Okay, So it Didn’t Happen This Week, a Belated #ThankfulThursday

Yeah, so #BookTalkTuesday and #ThankfulThursday were a no go this week. On Tuesday I was too busy getting out of my own way to apply for a couple jobs I was terrified of but wanted desperately. Yesterday I was occupied spending my time with some amazing people I don’t get to see nearly often enough. So I’m not sad I missed them; Tuesday and Thursday will come around again.

Anyway, today we’re going to pretend it’s Thursday (shhhh) so I can talk about what I’m thankful for. Despite all the stress and sleepless nights I had, there were some great moments.

So here we go:

1. Finally applying for full time work. We’ll see how it goes. I’m trying not to day dream too much about having my own basement cubicle. I could have a personal item you guys!  I could have a plant to kill! Cross your fingers.

2. Over memorial day weekend Erik and I hit up Frontenac State Park for a camping trip. We forgot about half of what we were supposed to pack with us, but that doesn’t surprise me at all. It was still a much needed weekend away. I loved Frontenac because the St. Croix River Valley is one of my favorite places, plus I’m a sucker for a good overlook:

IMG_2399IMG_2411

There were soooo many winding staircases:IMG_2417

Apparently this is an important rock… I guess it’s a nice rock, as far as rocks go:

IMG_2418IMG_2419IMG_2421

2. We finally bought plants and planted a “garden” (I really use that term loosely). So say hello to our new plants and wish them luck and life as I try not to murder them completely.

IMG_2423

We built our planter from an antique drawer from an old church, some fencing, and parts of old fence posts. It won’t last too long, but it was super easy and it looks cool. Also I got really overzealous and but way too many plants, so they’re a little cramped in there. Whoops.

IMG_2425

I also wanted an indoor plant that reminded me of warmer climates, so I bought this one, not realizing it’s supposed to grow into a full size coconut tree. I seriously hope I don’t kill it and it reaches the ceiling, that’d be so awesome. Also I googled how to take care of one indoors, and the website said you’d have to be an absolute nutter to buy an indoor coconut tree. Woot! I’m excited to see how this plays out.

IMG_2426

3. Spending my Thursday, not in a 12 hour work day, like I usually do, but with some of my favorite people on the planet, hiking toward a sunset:

IMG_2429IMG_2430IMG_2431IMG_2432

That’s all I’ve got for now. I hope everyone had a great week and hopefully you’ll actually be hearing from me on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

