The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

Okay, it’s way past my bed time (I know, I know, it always is) and I’ve got lake water and Bud Light Limes filling my brain (isn’t that just Summer in a sentence?), so I’ve gotta get this done before I drift off into sweet, splendid slumberland.

Welcome to fiction week on #BookTalkTuesday! Today’s featured title is The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda. I gotta be honest, there’s going to be a trend here. I lean toward non-police-procedural mysteries with a strong female protagonist for my summer leisure reading. I’m definitely going to try to expand my horizons, but for now, that’s what I’ve got.

I highly recommend Megan Miranda for fans of Ruth Ware, who wrote In a Dark, Dark Wood and The Woman in Cabin 10, both of which I thoroughly enjoyed. They both have the same kind of vibe to their books and their protagonists don’t drive me totally insane with their idiocy, the number 1 reason I toss aside a mystery without finishing it.

Premise:

The Perfect Stranger focuses on Leah Stevens, a recently ostracized journalist who took too big of a risk in a story, who now finds herself an English teacher in a small Pennsylvania town. She lives in a small cabin in the woods (you see why I picked up this book, now, don’t you?) with her roommate that she knew back in college. At the beginning of the book she happens upon a grisly crime scene of a woman who eerily resembles her and realizes her roommate is missing. What she doesn’t understand is the connection between the two and how it all leads back to her.

Why it’s worth reading:

I didn’t anticipate all of the book’s twists and turns. It kept me guessing and kept me reading. The narrator, though a little naïve (they always seem to be), wasn’t annoying, and I enjoyed following her thoughts and perspective as the mystery developed. The book had a great pace, a nice setting, and was a good, fast read. I mean, it wasn’t the most amazing thing I’ve ever read, but it was a great book to read by the campfire before supper on a Saturday. I’m excited to see what Megan Miranda creates next.

Okay, time for sleepy sleeps. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

Leave a Reply

